e: enquiries @ wdmc.org.uk
Whickham and District Motor Club Limited

WDMC's Annual Awards Night 2017

2017 Awards 1

Whickham and District Motor Club’s Annual Awards night, held every December, is a wonderful opportunity for all our members to come together to celebrate the members achievements in all their motorsport categories.

This year was once again, just as in the past, a thoroughly enjoyable evening with WDMC Club Chairman Ollie Currie and Competition Secretary Tosh Townsend taking centre stage to announce the Award Winners and their achievements. 2017 has been a very good year for both competitors and the Club in general, as was evidenced by the sheer number of awards on display. Competition has been fierce in many areas this season, with some Championships going right down to the wire and the Club has seen some epic results from some of its members throughout the year.

The evening was a very well attended affair, the atmosphere was extremely good natured and there was an air of expectation around as people waited to see and hear who the award winners were. They did not have long to wait.

First anouncements were for the Monthly Notable Achievement Awards, given each month to members who deserve particular recognition for an act or result that happened during that particular year. Sometimes these awards are not given, other times there may be multiple recipients; it is all down to recognition of a notable Achievement.

Award winners were as follows:
December: Dan May, Karl Knox and Ewan Tindall
January: Jimmy and Karl Knox
February: Tosh Townsend and Gordon Bradford
March: Ewan Tindall
April: Peter Metcalfe and Guy Wickham
May: Tristan Pye
June: Ian Coulson and Gary Laverick
July: Jonny Chrisp
August: Kevin and Jimmy Knox
September: Ewan Tindall
October: Ollie Currie, Mark Jose and Tom Wells
November: Phil Kenny and Gary Laverick

The Committee also made a particular point of awarding a Special Recognition Award to Ian Coulson for his amazing attitude and everything he has brought to both the club and motorsport in general this year.

Next came the Club Championships: 2017 had been an extremely competitive year within the Club, with competition for victory extremely hot throughout the season. Some championships see-sawed throughout, with competitors taking places off each other only to drop back after the next event. Championships were eventually decided as follows:

Maps Championship:
Runner Up: Brian Townsend
Champion: Tosh Townsend

Sporting Challenge Driver:
Runner Up: Brian Townsend
Champion: Peter Metcalfe

Sporting Challenge Navigator:
Runner Up: Ollie Currie
Champion: Tosh Townsend

Superstars Championship:
Runner Up: Tosh Townsend
Champion: Brian Townsend

Stage Rally Championship Driver:
Runner Up: Ewan Tindall
Champion: Jimmy Knox

Stage Rally Championship Co-Driver:
Runner Up: Paul Hudson
Champion: Phil Kenny

Stage Rally Junior Champion:
Driver: Ewan Tindall
Co-Driver: Karl Knox


2017 Awards 2

Finally came the Discretionary Awards, presented each year by certain individuals within the Club to members they personally felt deserved particular recognition for their very special contribution to the Club, the sport, or in recognition of a special or outstanding event during the year. The Awards for 2017 are as follows:

The Graham Trophy for Marshalling:
Dave Thompson

For his considerable contribution to Marshalling throughout the past year.

The Ken Ledger Award for Most with the Least:
Jonny Chrisp

For the incredible results he enjoys in a vehicles built and run on such a small budget.

The Mike Sayer Award:
Tristan Pye

For being a great ambassador for WDMC and his contributions to the club.

The Keith Knox Trophy:
Alastair Knox

For his contribution to the Interclub DVD night and producing Pacenotes every month.

The Ramsey Services Award for Services to the Club:
Guy Wickham

For his incredible efforts behind the scenes and the efforts he puts in on behalf of the Club.

The Awful Warning Trophy:
Tony Chrisp

For his amazing ability to cross the finish line even whilst not fully conscious.

The evening concluded with a superb buffet and general conversation. The atmosphere was extremely good, with members staying until very late and taking the opportunity to have a really good catch up with everyone and hear how they were doing.

Whickham’s Annual Awards night once again showed not only how active its members are but also just how promising the future is for the Club.

Long may it continue.

2017 Awards Column

© Copyright, Whickham and District Motor Club Limited 2022 Website Powered By tmb